GLASPALÄSTE and World Exposition

An interactive spatial structure between art and science

19 Mai — 10 Sep 17

The mobile space structure of twelve glass cubes* will take shape on the square between the Neues Rathaus (New Town Hall) and the Exerzierhalle (former drill hall) in Wittenberg. With their ephemeral form, the glass palaces interrupt the unpredictable situation of the urban space, in order to interactively offer questions on globalisation.

Since the first world exhibition, which took place in the glass palace in London in 1851, the pavilions of world exhibitions have presented technical, scientific and economic achievements of individual nations. This is about primacy, power and prestige. With the glass palaces in Wittenberg, each cube is in relation with a certain place in the world, but without wanting to occupy a dominant position. Here, the pavilions are formed into interaction platforms and transcultural displays between the invited scientists and artists, who engage in a dialogue with various places in the world and with visitors on site.

Related texts
Opening times / location
19 & 20 May 11.00 - 18.00
21 May - 22 June Wed - Sun 14.30 - 17.30
23 June - 6 August Wed, Thu 14.30 - 17.30
Fr, Sa 12.00 - 18.00
Sun 12.00 -17.00
19 & 20 August 12.00 -18.00

The square between the Neues Rathaus and the Exerzierhalle. Lutherstraße 56, 06886 Lutherstadt Wittenberg

Program
Letterbox
glass cubes become GLASPALÄSTE

Through the development of the central question from GLASPALÄSTE, ‘Why are there borders?’ the international guests will gradually build glass palaces from the empty glass cubes, and in doing so interact with the visitors from Wittenberg. They will develop certain artistic and scientific concepts in such a way that the cube design will be led by the artistic principle of:

'bringing together and seeing that which one would not normally expect to be seen together.'

The glass palaces will become a interactive spatial structures between art and science. Depending on the action, the glass palaces will change their location, sometimes leaving the exhibition site and travelling to different parts of the city and out to the city limits.


* The prototype of the glass cubes comes from the artistic work structure SYNTOPIAN VAGABOND by Michaela Rotsch www.syntopianvagabond.net.

Reformation, Globalisation, Formation

The glass palaces are formed in reference to the reformation and globalisation. In terms of the question Why are there borders? GLASPALÄSTE concentrates on the following three areas:

  1. Book Printing and Media: This is about information channels, as well as making knowledge visible. Which knowledge? Where is media limitation? Is there a limitless access to knowledge and a hierarchical exchange of knowledge?
  2. The posting of the 95 theses: Here the 96th thesis is negotiated. What are the limits of (self)criticism and what can the criticisism of globalization achieve?
  3. The sale of indulgences? Religion and economics are interdependent. Have religious structures today simply taken on a different form? Does a kind of modern sale of indulgences take place, and is there still a form of hidden colonialism?

The project was developed under participation of students of the University of Vienna´s Institute of Sociology.

Participants

Michaela Rotsch

Bildende Künstlerin, transdisziplinäre und -kulturelle Forschung mit arabesken Organisationsstrukturen und syntopischen Werkstrukturen.

michaelarotsch.com

* Der Prototyp der Glaskuben stammt aus der künstlerischen Werkstruktur SYNTOPIAN VAGABOND, die hier mit dem transkulturellen Projektansatz von GLASPALÄSTE durch die gemeinsame Rahmenstruktur der Glaskuben verbunden wird. Dadurch wird die Grenze zwischen Bildender Kunst und anderen kulturellen Bereichen ausgelotet.

syntopianvagabond.net

Michaela Rotsch

Fine artist, transdisciplinary and transcultural research with arabesque organisational structures and syntopic work structures.

michaelarotsch.com

* The prototype of the glass cubes comes from the artistic work structure SYNTOPIAN VAGABOND, which is linked here to the transcultural approach of GLASPALÄSTE through the common structure of the glass cubes. Thus the boundary between contemporary art and other cultural areas is explored.

syntopianvagabond.net

Irmtraud Voglmayr

Soziologin und Medienwissenschaftlerin, Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre: Stadt- und Raumforschung, Medien, Gender und Klasse.

Irmtraud Voglmayr

Sociologist and media theorist, focussing on research and teaching: city and urban planning, media, gender and class.

Juliane Zellner

Juliane Zellner studierte Theaterwissenschaft (M.A.) in München, Urban Studies (MSc.) in London und promoviert derzeit an der Hafencity Universität im Fachbereich Kultur der Metropolen.

Juliane Zellner

Juliane Zellner holds a degree in Theatre Studies (M.A.) from LMU Munich and a degree in Urban Studies (MSc) from UCL London.

Currently she is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Metropolitan Culture at the HCU Hamburg.

GLASPALÄSTE und Weltausstellung

Eine interaktive Raumstruktur zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft

19 Mai — 10 Sep 17

Eine mobile Raumstruktur von zwölf Glaskuben formiert sich auf dem zentralen Platz zwischen dem Neuen Rathaus und der Exerzierhalle in Wittenberg. In ihrer ephemeren Form setzen sich die Glaspaläste den unvorhersehbaren Situationen im Stadtraum aus, um Fragen zur Globalisierung interaktiv zu gestalten.

Seit der ersten Weltausstellung, die 1851 im Glaspalast in London stattfand, werden in den Pavillions von Weltausstellungen technische, wissenschaftliche oder ökonomische Errungenschaften einzelner Nationen präsentiert. Es geht dabei um Vorrangstellung, Macht und Prestige. Bei den Glaspalästen in Wittenberg steht jeder Glaskubus zu einem bestimmten Ort auf der Welt in Bezug - ohne dabei eine dominante Position einnehmen zu wollen. Hier formieren sich die Glaskuben bzw. Pavillons zu Interaktionsräumen und fungieren als transkulturelle Displays zwischen den eingeladenen Gastwissenschaftler_innen und -künstler_innen, die über die Kubengestaltungen mit verschiedenen Orten der Welt und mit Besucher_innen vor Ort im Austausch stehen.

Texte zum Thema
Öffnungszeiten / Ort
19. & 20. Mai 11.00 bis 18.00 Uhr
21. Mai - 22. Juni Mittwoch bis Sonntag 14.30 - 17.30 Uhr
23. Juni - 6 August Mittwoch, Donnerstag 14.30 - 17.30 Uhr
Freitag, Samstag von 12.00 bis 18.00 Uhr
Sonntag 12.00 -17.00 Uhr
19. & 20. August 12.00 -18.00 Uhr

Auf dem Platz zwischen Neuem Rathaus und Exerzierhalle - Lutherstraße 56, 06886 Lutherstadt Wittenberg

Programm
Briefkasten
Aus Glaskuben werden GLASPALÄSTE

Durch die Ausgestaltung der zentralen Frage von GLASPALÄSTE „Wieso gibt es Grenzen?“ werden die international eingeladenen Akteur_innen, nach und nach aus den noch leeren Kuben Glaspaläste* bauen und dabei mit Besucher_innen in Wittenberg interagieren. Sie werden dabei bestimmte wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Konzeptionen so entwickeln, dass ein Prinzip vorherrschend sein wird:

„Das Zusammenzubringen von etwas, das erwartungsgemäß nicht zusammengehört.“

Die Glaspaläste werden zur interaktiven Raumstruktur zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft. Je nach Aktion ändern die Glaspaläste ihre Standorte, verlassen zeitweise das Ausstellungsgelände, fahren in verschiedene Stadtteile und in die Peripherie Wittenbergs aus.


* Der Prototyp der Glaskuben stammt aus der künstlerischen Werkstruktur SYNTOPIAN VAGABOND von Michaela Rotsch www.syntopianvagabond.net.

Reformation, Globalisierung, Formierung

Die Glaspaläste formieren sich in der Bezugnahme auf Reformation und Globalisierung. Bezüglich der Frage: Wieso gibt es Grenzen? konzentriert sich GLASPALÄSTE auf folgende drei Themenbereiche:

  1. Buchdruck und Medien: Es geht um Informationskanäle und Sichtbarwerdung von Wissen. Welches Wissen? Wo herrscht mediale Begrenzung? Gibt es einen grenzenlosen Zugang zu Wissen und einen hierarchielosen Austausch von Wissen?
  2. Thesenanschlag: Hier wird die 96. These verhandelt. Wo liegen Grenzen der (Selbst-)Kritik und was kann eine Kritik der Globalisierung leisten?
  3. Ablasshandel heute? Religion und Ökonomie stehen in einer Wechselbeziehung. Haben religiöse Strukturen heute nur eine andere Form angenommen? Gibt es eine Art von neuzeitlichem Ablasshandel und einen nach wie vor verdeckt existierenden Kolonialismus?

Das Projekt wurde in Mitarbeit von Studierenden des Instituts für Soziologie der Universität Wien entwickelt.

Mitwirkende

Michaela Rotsch

Bildende Künstlerin, transdisziplinäre und -kulturelle Forschung mit arabesken Organisationsstrukturen und syntopischen Werkstrukturen.

michaelarotsch.com

* Der Prototyp der Glaskuben stammt aus der künstlerischen Werkstruktur SYNTOPIAN VAGABOND, die hier mit dem transkulturellen Projektansatz von GLASPALÄSTE durch die gemeinsame Rahmenstruktur der Glaskuben verbunden wird. Dadurch wird die Grenze zwischen Bildender Kunst und anderen kulturellen Bereichen ausgelotet.

syntopianvagabond.net

Michaela Rotsch

Fine artist, transdisciplinary and transcultural research with arabesque organisational structures and syntopic work structures.

michaelarotsch.com

* The prototype of the glass cubes comes from the artistic work structure SYNTOPIAN VAGABOND, which is linked here to the transcultural approach of GLASPALÄSTE through the common structure of the glass cubes. Thus the boundary between contemporary art and other cultural areas is explored.

syntopianvagabond.net

Irmtraud Voglmayr

Soziologin und Medienwissenschaftlerin, Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre: Stadt- und Raumforschung, Medien, Gender und Klasse.

Irmtraud Voglmayr

Sociologist and media theorist, focussing on research and teaching: city and urban planning, media, gender and class.

Juliane Zellner

Juliane Zellner studierte Theaterwissenschaft (M.A.) in München, Urban Studies (MSc.) in London und promoviert derzeit an der Hafencity Universität im Fachbereich Kultur der Metropolen.

Juliane Zellner

Juliane Zellner holds a degree in Theatre Studies (M.A.) from LMU Munich and a degree in Urban Studies (MSc) from UCL London.

Currently she is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Metropolitan Culture at the HCU Hamburg.